Off on my jollies

This week I went up to Edinburgh with my good friend Kirsty. We had initially planned to go to Amsterdam this week, I even got my passport in March, my first one as well. However last week, Kirsty received a letter saying the ferry hadn’t been booked but they could offer Bruges or a refund. Kirsty tried Bruges and that was fully booked. So the option was Edinburgh or a refund, so we opted for Edinburgh. I’m so glad we did.

We had a long bus trip on the Tuesday, which didn’t seem to be as long as the trip back, but that might be due to how tired I felt.  Lots of fresh air and walking can do that to you.

I learned so much while away. I realised how I can’t relax enough. My brain always working overtime. What I did love was just watching the scenery go by on the way up. We have such a beautiful country. From miles and miles of fields and hills to various architecture in our cities. Some are a bit weird and some stand tall and proud.

Two of my favourite things were finding the cafe where J.K. Rowling wrote the first Harry Potter book and the Frankenstein pub. Both truly amazing places.  The Elephant House had so much to offer. It just felt magical to me. Including the toilet walls being covered in messages from Harry potter fans. truly amazing. Sorry for any spoilers.

The Frankenstein pub had some amazing decor. A great place for a wedding reception and the food was just beautiful. We had a chicken and sweetcorn chowder each, although I had sweet potato fries with mine, Kirsty had just chips. I would highly recommend this pub.

The rest of the day was spent exploring Edinburgh after we had a bus tour on the way in, and we wanted to explore the streets ourselves. Who knows how many miles we actually covered as both our phones died before we got back to the hotel.

I also learned that I don’t have a clue when it comes to budgeting for a holiday, but we live and learn as they say. So onto the next holiday. There’s so much to explore, so much to see and do I just need to make a list and sort a budget out.

So feel free to comment below and let me know where I should jet off to. Next year so far has Wales and London on the list.

Thank you for reading

xxx

 

 

Leave a Reply

