I love my Parkrun family.

So after a week of not running I decided that today would be when I did my 10th Parkrun. I thought about leaving it but then I wondered when I would get time free again and I just decided to do it. Not feeling great yesterday or this morning I wasn’t aiming for time. However, after setting off a bit to quick trying to catch a friend, I slowed down and kept telling myself although my pace felt slow I was doing ok.

20170624_125548

On the second lap I caught up with Anne who was running with two young  lads (as under 11’s need an adult) and one was lagging behind, and the other was trying to shoot off. So I yelled that I would run with him while she ran off. I asked him if he was ok and he said he needed to walk. So we did, and then he shot off with me having to up my speed. this happened on and off a couple of times. On the last part I said to him how about a sprint finish, he replied ‘no I need to walk’. Next minute he sprinted off with me trying my best to keep up and only just getting to the finish line in time. It was an amazing feeling. Best bit was I didn’t know what to do with my barcodes and just handed both over.

20170624_085201

After Park run we all head down to the cafe for a catch-up, coffee and sometimes cake. A small group of us do token sorting. We sit around sorting them into piles awaiting to be put back on the string for next week. Even the kids get involved. Today they seemed a little restless, so I offered to take them outside to burn some energy off. I ended up playing tig and hide and seek for a good hour. by the time I finished I felt like I had done another Park run. It was awesome.

It’s 3 years now since I was introduced to this lot and I’m so pleased. I just wish I had more Saturday morning’s off to catch up with them. Park run is an amazing thing to. It brings so many people together, different ages, sizes and abilities and it’s such a beautiful sight to see. I feel so blessed to be a part of it. And now a year on after my first one at Roundhay, I’ve completed my 10th at Woodhouse Moor, and I couldn’t have asked for a better run. sometimes you just have to get out there and do it.

Thank you for reading

xxx

Leave a Reply

