The London Marathon

17990331_10155274771761204_8458708261201407599_o

Amazing stories from The London Marathon here and here

Find your local Parkrun here

Song of the day. I didn’t realise it was 10 years old. It’s one of my favourite songs

So what did you do today? Sunday is known as a day of rest. Well I think I managed to do just that with only an hour worth of housework, as I had to do 3 loads of washing due to working late & long shifts this week.

I sat and watched the London Marathon from start to finish. I was blown away by the distance, the amount of people and the courage and bravery people had. It made em feel quite humble. At one point they showed a guy had collapsed towards the end and a fellow runner stopped and helped him to the finish line. The other thing I noticed, which I keep beating myself up about is sometimes people were having to stop and walk, including an elite athlete who got stomach cramps towards the end.

This week I managed to achieve some distances I didn’t think I would, realising I could do this using the area I live in, and making sure I do a mini dvd workout to warm up before hand, I’ve got further than I thought. However two late shifts and sleeping in and being late for work broke me. Hence why today I tried to be kind to myself and sit and watch TV.

So what have I learn’t? Well, for one, what I need to remember is to listen to my body not my head. I need to rest more and now when I’m out running and I’ve hit a hill I talk to myself, ‘lets get to the blue car’ ‘now the lampost’ and so on. I used to have an ipod to listen to a few years ago, I would only run to music. But when I restarted running last year, a lot heavier and sweatier I kept losing the earphones and eventually gave up. I now run without music and love it, instead I sing/talk to myself and I’m fully aware of my surroundings. I love it.

I’m really looking forward to the Great North Run and I’m wondering whether in 3 years when I am 40, I could try the London Marathon. I really want to get back to the fitness of when I did the 3 10ks in a year and I would love to do something so big for my 40th year. I might even find races to make the miles to 40 over the course of the year. Now there’s a challenge. Oh and there was a woman called Helen running with a dragon on her back, maybe a sign?

18055878_1894656900781427_8879715552857713408_o.jpg

The shift work I’m doing is killing me. I’m sat watching the London marathon and dug out my £1 planner I got ages ago when out with Kirsty so have put it to good use. Nothing set in concrete as shifts are constantly changing.

 

 

18121199_1894826140764503_1569656731224650071_o.jpg

I’ve been trying to sort myself out after a really tough week. I’ve just been given homemade ginger biscuits and told that my neighbours dad has prostrate cancer. I felt like a bit of an idiot when my issues are to do with me not coping well with stress and there’s someone who might lose a loved one. We all have different challenges. I just wish mine would sort itself out.

2017-04-17 09.01
One from last week

 

18033165_1631764240185812_3611224200175193731_n
Something I’m not doing lately

Thank you for reading

xxx

Leave a Reply

