Run Helen Run: 2017

Well, I did it. I managed to kick myself out the house and do about 24 minutes of exercise. I decided yesterday, today would be the day I would start getting back into running. I sat and planned the days I would run and then I downloaded an app. It was couch to 5k. What I didn’t realise was that it was actually a podcast and it had the voice of Jo Whiley instructing you on how long to walk for and how long to run for. She has such a soothing voice. So I went to the local park and started walking. I did a five minute brisk walk and then 60 seconds run, this alternated between that and 90 seconds break with a brisk walk. In total I did 8 minutes running and also got to take in some amazing views. The sun was creating some amazing affects through the trees

trees.jpg

The one thing I forgot about the park was that its on a giant slope. So when it came to a few of the runs it was on the incline. But someone how I talked myself into going slow and somehow got to the top. Yes it was cold, and I forgot my knee support, again and yes I perhaps should have wrapped up a bit better but I enjoyed it. I can’t wait to do the next session. perhaps join in a few parkruns, but we shall see. It’s a start.

me

I’m also trying to follow the lead of others and charging myself everytime I’m out. I was thinking 50p for every 20 minutes. I do so much emotional spending on silly things when really if I tried doing this I get time to think and time to try work things out. I could save loads of money and put it towards the running events or new running gear. However it maybe a few IOU’s to start with but we’ll see how we go, but if next time I fancy a pasty or junk food I will try to think twice and put the money in the jar.

jara
Amazing what you can do with a jar from IKEA and some sharpie pens

If anyone has any tips please let me know.

Thank you for reading.

xxx

2 thoughts on “Run Helen Run: 2017

Leave a Reply

