What I have learnt through running every(ish) day of Advent

Sally Xerri-Brooks

15698077_10154178862241762_7681385810596230776_nAt the end of November I read a fantastic article in the rather fabulous Standard Issue by Sophie Scott, a woman who started ‘Advent running’ on 1st December a few years back – at least a mile a day – and never stopped. What struck me was her ordinariness. She wasn’t one of those lycra-clad serious running types (apologies if you’re one of those…) she was like me!

So, on 1st December I set myself a challenge to run 26.2 miles during December. I am *not* a sportswoman by any stretch of the imagination. This, for me, was a genuine challenge.

Here is what I learnt through the 16 runs and 26.4 miles I ran:

1. The pain the day after the first run was surprisingly bad. I had some Reiki that day, and the practitioner asked where it hurt. I responded: “everywhere”.

2. After the third day, the pain…

View original post 189 more words

Leave a Reply

