Project Helen: Leeds 10K

About two weeks ago I was visiting my Mum up north and I came down with a cold or virus, and it meant I couldn’t do the things I had planned. I wanted to take my Mum out shopping, go to the art shops and get calligraphy stuff and paints. I was really disappointed with myself for falling ill, but in the end, it worked out for the best, because over the 4-5 days I was there I got to sit and spend some time with my Mum, talking about books, and art and about what jobs she used do. I also found out she loves having the kindle we got her as changing the font size helps her to be able to see the writing. So we sat down at my Sister’s laptop and managed to find her some books off the internet. I’m so pleased as I know how much she loves reading and to lose that ability because the writing is too small or bunched together is such a shame. It’s opened so many doors for her.

So while I was up there, I got to eat Mum’s amazing cooking, including cornbeef hotpot, her roast dinner and her amazing baking skills and I got eat chocolate biscuits straight from the oven, heaven! So when I came back to Leeds this made me think that I really do need to look at my diet and what I eat and how I cook it. I started cooking fresh last year and my body seemed to react in a weird way, as I had spent the previous 5 years on and off ready meals and  junk food as it so easy to make when you’re busy or tired or both. That’s what lead up to me finding out about the vitamin D deficiency. I’ve ben looking at foods that could help and also trying my hardest to cut down on sugar and chocolate especially after 3pm. It sometimes works.

This week, I was aiming at salads at work and managed two days, then had a flatbread sandwich from the supermarket. I then had a very stressful day at work yesterday and reached for the sugar and that was that. I made a start and I will continue it. It’s just not going to happen over night. But I do feel better for it and that’s what lead me onto thinking more about my health and how much I miss running. Exercise is an aid to depression and I lost my motivation quite a while back, so much so it was 3 years ago I did the last 10k in York. I can’t believe it. Life got in the way I had job changes and then just felt so exhausted that most of my days off were spent in the house. Since that last race I have become two stone heavier and rather unfit. It was then I decided that I needed a goal and look at the Leeds 10k and I entered it. It’s not until July so it gives me plenty of time to train and I’m not aiming for a special time, just to complete it.

I will be raising money for Cystic Fibrosis in memory of my friend who, if you have read pieces in my blog know I lost her 16 years ago. I have carried so much guilt about how I let her down in those final months, and moving away from home that I decided I needed to do something to honour her and say sorry. I’m running the 10k for me, and in memory of my friend. It gives me something to focus on.

I spoke to my friend about running shoes and was advised to get my feet checked, I think its called a gait test and recommended Up and Running. I emailed them and got an amazing response and last Sunday I went down to get checked. I now wish I had done this when doing the 10ks previous because although my first set of trainers were perfect the ones after weren’t and now I know why, I have a mild instep and I wasn’t getting the support and now I do and with trainers almost identical to my first pair and I’m in love with them. Haven’t tried them outside yet, have just be plodding around the house to get a feel of them, but I think it’s going to make running a lot more easier. From the footage I was shown it looks like I run on my toes and then land (I think) it all looked a bit odd to me, but I wasn’t putting my foot down flat, and then change of shoes and what a difference. I could even end up faster than before, depending on fitness levels of course :p. So keep an eye of the blog, as hopefully I will be updating my progress, I will be going back to the training we did before with walks and walking/running break down before I even attempt a 5k park run in preparation for the big day. It’s all very exciting!!!!

Thank you for reading

xxx

2 thoughts on “Project Helen: Leeds 10K

Leave a Reply

