#MyFriendsMyCommunity

StripeyAnne's Blog

George George with Rolf, another of our regular parkrun volunteers

Allow me to introduce you to George, he’s my pal. I see him every week at parkrun, he announces his arrival with a loud and cheery ‘A-a-a-a-n-n-n-n-e-!’ as he greets me with the warmest and loveliest hug. Every time I see him, he makes me happy.

He’s been one of our team of parkrun volunteers for some time now, collecting the tokens from the runners, cheering us all on, standing there in all  kinds of weather. When he’s on duty, everyone returns their tokens.

He’s the first to admit that running’s not his favourite thing, he’d rather be on the stage, he’s rather a good actor, or in the audience at shows, theatre and pantomime. What that lad hasn’t seen isn’t worth seeing, he’s a regular aficionado, I learn so much from him. But back to running, he’s had a…

View original post 326 more words

Leave a Reply

