The Helen Project-update

I recently read a book called –The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying: A simple, effective way to banish clutter forever by Marie Kondo. I was told about it by a friend and I was quite interested to see what it was about. I loved everything about it, once Ifinished it I couldn’t pick up another book and settle. I had to start on the tidying and sorting. Within a few hours I had got rid of two boxes. Amazing.

‘The key to successful tidying is to tackle your home in the correct order, to keep only the things you really love and to do it all at once – and quickly. After that for the rest of your life you only need to choose what to keep and what to discard.’

I’ve been trying to clear out for a couple of years now. I’ve got so much stuff in this house, and it keeps building. Some of it is at least 12 years old and just sat in boxes. I’ve since cleared out paperwork, old college work, books unread or not likely to be reread and reorganised the bedding and towels.

In recent months I’ve tried Reiki and crystal healing, and although I’ve had odd effects from it, it has felt like it has helped. The only problem is, is that so much negativity has built up over the years, trying to reverse that has had some odd side effects. The main one being around the throat and the sensation of being strangled or constant pressure on my throat. When I first had it done I ended up with a terrible headache and then wanted to cry. In the past year I have developed a hate for negativity, if someone is in a bad mood I will stay away from them the best I can, I do try talking to them but get the same response my Dad used to give, and it was always a sulky/ snappy response. So I leave the person/s to it. I just don’t want to waste my energy on them.

11224775_1032042500171777_8473539967728240515_n

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before but I have a terrible memory and sometimes it can’t be quite bad. I can do something, get distracted and completely forget what I was doing in the first place. The other week I was sorting my bag out on my bed (I don’t normally do this) I then tidied up, not realising I hadn’t put the bus pass back. Went to bed and slept, and then found it missing. In the end I walked to work and got the bus back only to find it sometime later when I went to tidy the duvet up.

I’ve also had some family related issues to deal with, which I didn’t realise had affected me so much, but made me angry and upset at the same time. This topped with work, and feeling really tired, and no motivation at the moment just left me drained. Today I seem to have fixed that. I started again on this clearing malarkey and started cleaning the carpets. They hadn’t been done since I moved in 5 years ago, and boy is it filthy.

11253592_1062128160498910_3169553535883280181_o

I only noticed it when i moved the rug by accident and saw a dark patch and then there was the area near the door where I walk to the kitchen and back.  So today was about cleaning the house and I ended up cleaning the living room twice and both times the machine came up with black water. I’ve even had to give the machine a deep clean as there was all sorts of crap in there. Best bit is though after the new way of getting rid of stuff and cleaning the house, especially the living room, feels a lot lighter. Like the energies have changed and that it’s actually my home, it belongs to me and I have the headache and throat problem again which means that the energy has shifted and I am really proud of myself.

The result is I have now got another 6 bags for charity, I’ve cleared out at least 6 bags of rubbish and now there’s just a few repairs need doing, and bob’s your uncle. My home is my home and it has a fresh start and tomorrow I can begin the day feeling more positive. I can’t wait until the weekend to do the finishing pieces of cleaning and then I can start enjoying being the house rather than dreading coming home every so often.

12239756_1009169165812665_2137939654808606902_n

2 thoughts on “The Helen Project-update

Leave a Reply

