Book review: The Magician’s Nephew by C.S.Lewis

The Magician’s Nephew

(The Chronicles of Narnia (Publication Order) #6)

by C.S. Lewis

the-magicians-nephew-my-childhood-edition

When Digory and Polly are tricked by Digory’s peculiar Uncle Andrew into becoming part of an experiment, they set off on the adventure of a lifetime. What happens to the children when they touch Uncle Andrew’s magic rings is far beyond anything even the old magician could have imagined.

Hurtled into the Wood between the Worlds, the children soon find that they can enter many worlds through the mysterious pools there. In one world they encounter the evil Queen Jadis, who wreaks havoc in the streets of London when she is accidentally brought back with them. When they finally manage to pull her out of London, unintentionally taking along Uncle Andrew and a coachman with his horse, they find themselves in what will come to be known as the land of Narnia. -Goodreads

About the Author

CLIVE STAPLES LEWIS (1898–1963) was one of the intellectual giants of the twentieth century and arguably one of the most influential writers of his day. He was a Fellow and Tutor in English Literature at Oxford University until 1954. He was unanimously elected to the Chair of Medieval and Renaissance Literature at Cambridge University, a position he held until his retirement. He wrote more than thirty books, allowing him to reach a vast audience, and his works continue to attract thousands of new readers every year. His most distinguished and popular accomplishments include Mere Christianity, Out of the Silent Planet, The Great Divorce, The Screwtape Letters, and the universally acknowledged classics The Chronicles of Narnia. To date, the Narnia books have sold over 100 million copies and been transformed into three major motion pictures. -Goodreads

*spoilers*

tumblr_mffonjKMuw1rrwrczo1_r1_500

Make your choice, adventurous Stranger
Strike the bell and bide the danger
Or wonder, till it drives you mad
What would have followed if you had

Uncle_andrew

“What you see and what you hear depends a great deal on where you are standing. It also depends on what sort of person you are.”

As you know I run LBCPuffins as part of Leeds Book Club, its adults reading children’s books, mainly ones from our childhood, a bit of a nostalgic book reading group. This particular book has been put in the hat and not picked until we were undecided for the last book of the year and I decided to pop it in. And what a book!  I had read this book as a child, it was the first book int the series in which I owned (obviously its book no 6) and I think at this point I had seen the BBC’s version of The Lion Witch and the Wardrobe. I also remember reading the Silver chair but can’t remember what happened to it. I also own the BBC cover version of  The Lion the Witch and the wardrobe and the tv series.

and reading it again it feels like I have stepped back in time, it still holds its magic, I had forgotten how much I loved this book. I must have read it loads when I was young as it just felt like I have known this story for so long but had forgotten it. This book is the November pick and last one of the year for our book club and I was so excited I decided to read it early and I’m so glad I did. I think I need to find my own copy and remember just to re-read it once in a while.

f11e8bd681adce60da8eb6056419cd92It’s a classic children story, A child gets shipped off to his uncle’s in this case it’s so his mother can be looked after as she is ill and while the young boy (Digory) is out in the garden he meets the young girl (Polly) from next door. Of course each instantly think the other is silly, but then an adventure begins. Through the attic of Polly’s house they find a tunnel, area that they can crawl through which extends right through the roofs of the other houses. Off they go to explore, and in thinkign they have gone a great distance find a door and open it. Unfortunatley they land in Digory’s mad Uncle Andrew’s secret room.

Here they find the magician/Uncle had a secret. He has some magic rings that he is not sure how they work and traps the children in the room to trick them into using these rings. It’s from here the big adventure begins.

Out of all the books this year, I felt this has to be my favourite of the year, Like I said I felt like I did as a child reading it, and I wonder how many times I did. I now understand the latest film version where Jim Broadbent (the professor i.e. young Digory says something to Lucy) I did not twig, I guess I had forgotten then story.

Children have one kind of silliness. as you know, and grown-ups have another kind.At this moment Uncle Andrew was beginning to be silly in a very grown-up way
There is so much in this book, I do belive it is my favourite of the lot. I love the character’s I love the illustrations, especially as the one I borrowed from the library is a new edition it still holds the old illustrations, and what amazing ones they are too.
And before I finish I have to say sometimes in children’s books isn’t it funny when the children are more grown-up then the adult’s? I loved  Digory’s response to Uncle Andrew in the new world which made me laugh, I love it when a book does that.
“By gum,’ said Digory, ‘Don’t I just wish I was big enough to punch your head!”

And one thing everyone should remember

“All get what they want; they do not always like it.”
so be careful what you wish for.
So roll on November when I’m sure I’m to re-read it again. In the meantime I’ll just have to watch the other stories on the BBC boxset.
Oh one last thing I did not know Nellie came from Helen, I did wonder why the Queen’s name was changed –
Nelly (given name) Nelly, Nela, Nell, and Nellie are female given names, also used as nicknames, which are derived from the names Janelle, Helen, Ellen, Petronella, Chanelle and Cornelia.
Thank you for reading
xxx
Leave a Reply

