World Book night 2015 @WorldBookNight

Last night was World Book Night. An event special to me because it lead me to Book Club and then to run two myself. Many moons ago think it was 4, but not sure, I saw something on Twitter about World Book Night, and whilst in the White Swan I saw a poster for book club. And you know what happened after that.

so what’s it all about

logo-3e7f897841e4955042171959b9b03c0a‘World Book Night is an annual celebration of reading and books that takes place on 23 April. It sees passionate volunteers give out hundreds of thousands of books in their communities to share their love of reading with people who don’t read regularly or own books. World Book Night is run by The Reading Agency, a national charity that inspires people to become confident and enthusiastic readers to help give them an equal chance in life.’

What happens when you apply

  • Volunteers giving out World Book Night books apply to receive a set of 18 copies of a book chosen from the World Book Night 2015 list to people in their community who don’t regularly read. Please make sure you’ve carefully considered your book choice and application and read our guidelines and tips before applying.
  • You can apply as an individual or on behalf of an institution or organisation in which case you’ll be able to apply to receive more than one set of books so that, for example, an entire class in school or college or a large group of prisoners can all be given books.

WBN_covers_with_logoSo as a way to say thank you to World Book Night for giving me book club, and to book club for giving me so much, I decided about a year ago to take on the planning of this years event. I applied to be a giver thinking that I might not be successful and then what would I do if there was no givers. In the end I was, but not with my book choice. But that’s not important. I got to give away books, to help my mission my passion to get everyone reading. If anyone knows me they know how much I love reading and how much I love book club, whether we’re on the radio like a couple of years ago, or sat in a pub discussing the latest read. I am passionate about the paperback and getting into the hands of people who say reading isn’t for them.

What books do for the human soul –here

All the nerves kicked in yesterday morning, like every book club meeting, is anyone going to turn up, what will they think of me, will they enjoy, have we enough cake etc etc etc. The badges needed putting together and the flyers needed printing and folding, and of course I needed to pick up the books and cake.

weeks ago, I had the posters printed and dropped off at the pub, I used social media as much as possible to promote. I thought it would be a good idea to have some sort of tablecloth with Leeds Book Club on it and got slightly carried away, but loved every minute of designing it and I think the event was a success, I think I managed to pull it off. We had plenty of cake and an enormous amount of books. I have a bag full to in my living room which will go to raise money for St Gemma’s Hospice as part of a fundraiser Kirsty and I are doing. Any way back to the night. When you organise something I didn’t realise how much you focus on others, and make sure everyone is ok until the night started to wind down, and from the feedback I got, everyone enjoyed it. So I’m proud of what we achieved. Lets hope we see new faces at book club soon.

However, I found out later why we had so many books left over, was because people didn’t feel comfortable taking armfuls of books away with them. I did put signs up but probably not big enough, or perhaps I should have encouraged people more, but I know for next time if it was to happen again I’ll make sure no books or cake in fact are left.

I would like to say a big thank you to Kirsty W. and Niamh for the help in setting up. I would also like to thank Kirsty S. for spreading the word about LBCPuffins, I don’t know if she noticed me blushing. To everyone that came and of course to the White Swan pub for letting us host it for another year.

Thank you for reading

xxx

Leave a Reply

