stop what you’re doing and pick up a book and read even if its just for an hour

6a00d83451e1f069e2010536ccb321970b indexIn such a busy world, or so we are lead to believe with the amount of technology we own and feel tied to. To our jobs that require more and more of us, we forget to take time out and do what we love, whether its photography, cooking, playing or watching football, chatting with friends, we forget to make time for ourselves. Recently I read an article about taking an hour out of each day to do the one thing you loved most. One of mine is reading, but this year I keep losing my reading mojo, I’m either too tired mentally and physically I just want to numb my brain with the internet or TV or something else gets in the way. Last week when  visiting Mum I had the lurgy. Although I did read my illness made me miss obvious signs the author was telling me. Today after an exhausting day at work yesterday I finally, after 5 hours finished a book for book club. It annoyed me as 10 minute snatches here and there were just not good enough as I got absorbed in it.

 

 

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”
― C.S. Lewis
mine would be coffee though 😀
cool-cartoon-book-reading-strange

It is over a year ago that I took over LBCPuffins. A book group where adults read kids books. As a society, adults have their things and children have theirs and there’s no crossover. Well in some cases there isn’t like certain video games and smoking etc, although it doesn’t stop everyone it’s just shunned by society (is that the right term) or is it more frowned upon. It wasn’t until Harry Potter came out in ‘adult covers’ that it started to become acceptable to read kids books. I read all of them with the children illustration covers after discovering it while reading to my cousins. I also started reading kids books again after finding adult books were becoming to heavy and needed a break from them and the world as everything was getting to stressful. Since then I mix it up and I am so glad we started LBCPuffins.

puffinswp lbc-rusty fbpufifns

More here- Leeds Book Club – LBCPuffins

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”
― Dr. Seuss

And another thing about reading. Although Ebooks have taken off, there is nothing better than visiting a book shop, especially a second-hand one. Just the smell of old books is amazing and you never know what you might find. One of my favourites is Barter books in Alnwick, where the Keep Calm poster was found.

brockway

Reading can chill you out.

me2 il_570xn-2879094571me1

And here are some more links to prove that reading is good for you:

Best childrens books

Most shocking children’s books

Benifits of reading

and I love this one as it shows a scene from The Princess Bride here

anigif_enhanced-buzz-13775-1370626038-3

And I leave you with this:

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”
― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Thank you for reading

xxxx

4 thoughts on “stop what you’re doing and pick up a book and read even if its just for an hour

Leave a Reply

