Its Friday and I find myself job hunting, again

I’m feeling rather sorry for my self at the moment. I’m finding it harder to get out of bed at the moment. I really just want to hide under the covers and hope the world will just go away. I have been applying constantly for jobs, I have adapted application forms the best  I can, but either my education which is full of arty stuff goes against me or the amount of jobs I’ve done which with all that experience doesn’t count for toffee.

Today at some point I need to go out and do what the job centre call ‘speculative’ job hunting. I have also been sat watching Charmed and Murder She Wrote while trawling through websites. I have applied for a dozen coffee shop places (probably same one I’ve already applied for) and some supermarket ones.

I had an interview for a call centre the other day and apparently flexible is not what I thought it meant. I’m learning the hard way like someone advised it’s what you can do not what you can’t do as regards talents and non working hours. I just hope I don’t have to give up bookclub

On the same note, I also hate the fact that the computer is deciding my fate. Lately I keep getting this back:

‘Unfortunately, you did not meet the required benchmark at the initial screening stage for this role. We therefore regret to inform you that we won’t be taking your application any further.’

tumblr_inline_mjhc3yOgMp1qz4rgp

All I seem to hear is ‘computer says no’. So I’m going to have to take a different tactic and try focusing on activities rather than the education and work or a mixture of all three. I’ve perhaps not got a personal statement that has the wow factor.

So while I work through this here’s some food for thought:

‘No matter how far you have gone on the wrong road, turn back.”

It doesn’t matter how much time, money or energy you’ve already invested in the path you’ve chosen – it’s never too late to change direction.

Feeling stuck or unhappy? You can change that! Too many people believe themselves to be too ‘far gone’, too ‘old’ or even too ‘successful’ to choose a different, more joyful path for themselves. But this is never the case.

Each day and each moment is a clean slate. Forget what’s come before and don’t waste time worrying about what’s to come – it’s the HERE and NOW that’s important. 

So ask yourself – if everything leading to this moment was wiped clean, would I still want to be where I am right now? If the answer is no, you know what you have to do.

Be brave; take each day as a fresh start and do what needs to be done to make you happy NOW.’

Thank you for reading

xxx

4 thoughts on “Its Friday and I find myself job hunting, again

Leave a Reply

