It’s all about the print

I’m trying my hardest to get my head around the programme indesign and how to design and print booklets and I think I just had a lightbulb moment as I managed to print double sided on my home computer!!!!

Thhis book arrived to day! only £3 and it has a plastic cover!!!

new book!!!!
new book!!!!

 

 

 

This is the first booklet that I printed at work:booklet

I have also been trying so many different techniques. I’m back in the darkroom and have been producing photograms and then using the copystand to photograph my work then take it through photoshop to add some effects and use quotes from songs.

Photograms

The photogram represents a unique art form requiring only the action of light on a photosensitive substrate.

The history of photography is punctuated by practitioners who have developed a technique or style that has become a part of art history.  The first period of “photogram” exploration was to gain scientific record of natural objects (e.g. Anna Atkins).  The second period was a rediscovery of the artistic potential as illustrated by Christian Schad, Man Ray and Lazlo Moholy-Nagy in the Dada, Surrealist and Constructivist periods of art, respectively.

More recently, photogramists have utilized the photogram as a means of artistic expression to produce a wide variety of designs and surreal imagery.

This imagery is being created using traditional silver-gelatin black and white materials and other photosensitive media including cyanotype that are now considered alternative methods. Others are using both negative and positive acting color photographic materials to create photograms.

 

Untitled-1
This is one of my favourites.

Whilst cleaning I came downstairs to find my indesign book had been delivered and had landed in the pile of rubbish. I got ridiculously giddy and after lunch sat down and started finishing off my booklet. I got so obsessed with doing photograms with the tapes and printing on neon paper I wanted to make something that could be bound into a little book. I also want to do some postcards with the above design and possibly some stickers. the possibilities are endless.

So here is my little book designed on indesign and printed double sided on my a4 hp printer. I love my printer so much. It’s amazing what you can do with technology these days.

And finally, completely unrelated. I did an fb quiz on colours and this is what turned up. I think its spot on:

 Red:  You seem to thrive off of your own internal energy source and give off your own heat. If there’s work to be done or a problem to get solved, you are the superhero that your friends rely on. Your friends wonder if you ever sleep.

Thank you for reading

xxx

Leave a Reply

