Never grow up

I was talking to my colleague today about how my friend told me last night that I looked all grown up, what with wearing a skirt and tights and how much I’ve changed in last year (or I think that’s what she meant) and he told me that you should never grow up. I don’t intend to. I think I’ve regressed since becoming single and what appeared as anger was actually hurt in most cases when people pushed me out after years of friendship, because better things came along.

Today I had loads to do but felt it time to put my mark on the place. Its been a month since I started my new job, its temporary but I love it. I’m trying to absorbed every minute of it. I’ve so far taken 4 black and white films and processed them, I just need to do some prints in the darkroom. It’s all so exciting.

“It’s about reacting to what you see, hopefully without preconception. You can find pictures anywhere. It’s simply a matter of noticing things and organizing them. You just have to care about what’s around you and have a concern with humanity and the human comedy. ” -Elliot Erwitt
download (3)
Biography
 
Born in Paris in 1928 to Russian parents, Erwitt spent his childhood in Milan, then emigrated to the US, via France, with his family in 1939. As a teenager living in Hollywood, he developed an interest in photography and worked in a commercial darkroom before experimenting with photography at Los Angeles City College. In 1948 he moved to New York and exchanged janitorial work for film classes at the New School for Social Research.Erwitt traveled in France and Italy in 1949 with his trusty Rolleiflex camera. In 1951 he was drafted for military service and undertook various photographic duties while serving in a unit of the Army Signal Corps in Germany and France.While in New York, Erwitt met Edward Steichen, Robert Capa and Roy Stryker, the former head of the Farm Security Administration. Stryker initially hired Erwitt to work for the Standard Oil Company, where he was building up a photographic library for the company, and subsequently commissioned him to undertake a project documenting the city of Pittsburgh.In 1953 Erwitt joined Magnum Photos and worked as a freelance photographer for Collier’s, Look, Life, Holiday and other luminaries in that golden period for illustrated magazines. To this day he is for hire and continues to work for a variety of journalistic and commercial outfits.

In the late 1960s Erwitt served as Magnum’s president for three years. He then turned to film: in the 1970s he produced several noted documentaries and in the 1980s eighteen comedy films for Home Box Office. Erwitt became known for benevolent irony, and for a humanistic sensibility traditional to the spirit of Magnum.

A couple of students had a dog in the studio yesterday. They had a pet cam and were intending to put it on the collar of said dog and do some recording. I asked today how it went and apparently there are some amazing pictures, I told them about one of my favourite photographers, Elliot Erwitt (see above) and how I loved his dog photos, although it was the other perspective I thought it would be a good idea for how he documented things. I also said how I had met him at the media museum many years ago. His work is just amazing. I think I need to sit down and go through his book ‘Snaps’ again. The students came back to me and said it was just what they needed. and felt rather chuffed that I had parted some knowledge and it was useful.
so my job is Senior Learning Officer of Photography (I think) cool title! and I have been there four weeks and have done photograms processed films, contact sheets, used the copystand and all sorts. My biggest regret is that there is simply not enough time to do everything and there is so much I want to get my teeth into. But I’m doing my best to absorb as much as I can and I love it. Its so amazing. I still think I’m dreaming.
I’ve also made my mark in the office by plastering the wall with a4 inkjet prints of my work and I am very interested in printing on acetate so I can make a stain glass effect on my walls of my office as two walls are glass. Its going to look so cool.
It’s like I keep hearing lately. Be grateful for what you have, strive for more but don’t forget to live in the moment.
I feel like the luckiest person in the world at the moment, I hope it continues.
Thank you for reading
xxx
Leave a Reply

