I Had a Black Dog Matthew Johnstone

I’ve been looking into depression and wondering how to dig myself out of a hole, a very large hole. I got told about this (along with councelling for toads, but that’s another blog). This book is amazing. It’s a little book and a short film:

http://www.journeysonline.org.uk/other-products/i-had-black-dog-his-name-was-depression-matthew-johnstone

and I need to get hold of these:

http://matthewjohnstone.com.au/courses/quiet-the-mind/

http://guydownes.com.au/tag/matthew-johnstone/

new book http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1345962/Alphabet-Human-Heart-Matthew-Johnstones-book-toxic-emotions.html?ITO=1490&utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter
new book _ click here

‘We are all used to being sad and tired now and again. Depression (what Churchill referred to as “the black dog”) is different. It can be a profoundly disabling condition that leaves those affected and those who care for them feeling frightened and isolated.’

black_dog_days_8

‘Most people with depression, and most people with a loved one who has depression, want to do things to help themselves. What they often lack is clear, concise information. Most often, books about depression are too medicalised or too full of touchy-feely psychobabble to be of use. It is rare to find a book written by someone with direct experience of the condition, and even rarer to find one that conveys the complexity of the condition in a disarmingly straightforward manner.’

‘I Had A Black Dog is a real gem. By using plain language and light-hearted illustrations, Matthew Johnstone conveys in 48 pages what others have taken 500 pages and more to explain. Forget all that stuff about Serotonin and impaired cognition, I Had A Black Dog tells it as it is experienced.

Most importantly for those affected by a condition that impairs concentration and memory, I Had A Black Dog is accessible. Unlike other books, you will not find yourself going over the same page again and again trying to understand the information.

I Had A Black Dog shows you that you are not alone. While everyone’s experience of depression will be different, you will find enough common experience in this book that you will find yourself saying, “oh, you too…” And if you have a loved one with depression, I Had A Black Dog will give you an essential insight into what they are going through.

While I Had A Black Dog is not a self-help book, it is an excellent introduction to depression. While it conveys something of the day-to-day pain of depression, I Had A Black Dog is ultimately a positive book, showing how, with a combination of professional support and self-help, depression can be managed and ultimately overcome. As Johnstone says:

“I’ve learned that with patience, humour, knowledge and discipline even the worst black dog can be made to heel”’

http://www.journeysonline.org.uk/other-products/i-had-black-dog-his-name-was-depression-matthew-johnstone

Whether it is because it is a new year, its close to me becoming 34, pressure to get things sorted, one door closing or as it feels a lot closing and few opening.  The weather being cold, it being pitch black when I come home. It being freezing all day, I just don’t know but I decided after reading something to name my black dog, and seeing as its flavour of the month it’s Bernard, (like the hire car and printer, but that’s another story). Here is my vision on Bernard and at the minute he is HUGE!

But I have lots of family and friends around me I just have to….

download

Thank you for reading

xxx

Leave a Reply

