Put a smile on your face until you believe you’re own smile

‘Stay calm you can do it!’

This year, friends and family noticed I was repeating the same things over rand over again and that I was getting stressed out about certain situations, I couldn’t understand why or how things had got so bad. I kept crying, I kept getting really angry over the silliest of things. One friend suggested I should go see the doctor. My doctor is amazing, He has sorted out so many little problems. He put me on some anti-depressants and told me to come back in three months. I did and it seemed to be working and then after 6-8 months, it started again, I didn’t want to ‘up’ my medication and I didn’t want to talk to a councillor and go over the same things again, but I needed to talk to someone. I remember it was a Friday before work, I went in told him what the issue was, he turned round and said, ring this number today, don’t delay, and from that led to the CBT sessions just down the end of my street. I love them it’s helped so much, granted I haven’t always stuck to it but I’m getting there. As my therapist says ‘I’m only human’

It’s not been easy, but who said life is. Do we make it hard for ourselves or do others throw it in to the mix with their behaviours and action or reactions. Everyone has their problems and everyone thinks there’s a worse than anyone else’s. They might be, but if you are going through something and someone has experience of it what right do you have to tell someone how to act? How do you know how they feel?

Everyone is different and has a reaction to the same symptoms/illnesses which might not match yours. Nobody will truly know what the other person is thinking or feeling, or why they are acting like they are, simply because we’re human.

We just need to be there for each other. This year Christmas didn’t feel like Christmas. It seems to have passed by very quickly. This year I tried to make an effort with presents as I have very little money, so I put more thought into it and bought lots of little presents, the £1 shop was a big help. My sister got me loads of bizarre things and thought I would get mad or not like them. Like He says in my favourite film, Santa Claus the Movie, ‘People have forgotten about the gift of giving, putting a smile on a friends face.’

So today I have started operation-clearout and managed to clear a box of books that I have kept for 5 years and never read. I still have 6 boxes left and at some point will go through them again. I have managed to clear 6 bags of crap ready for the charity shop which in the new year I will arrange to collect and hopefully feel a huge sense of relief. I have held onto this crap for too long. Once that’s gone I will start the clearance again.

I’ve also been doing some CBT work and realised there’s quite a lot to do before my appointment in a fortnight, possibly my last. My next task tonight is to do an action plan and resolutions for 2014. I want to start it on the right foot, my new filofax that I got for Christmas has already started filling up.

I want to thank everyone for reading my blog, and to the 102 who follow on this site. It’s much appreciated.

Also a big thanks to my family and friends who stuck with me this year. I have no idea what the future brings but If I can learn anything from 2013, I can achieve anything with a bit of courage and determination, I mean who would have thought I would have my own radio show, or be a manager of a small printing stand!!!

and don’t forget, there’s nothing wrong with asking for a bit of help. I did it and it’s best thing I ever did, sometimes we just need to learn to reach out. Others need to learn we just need someone to listen to or that spontaneous hug. 😀

So if you haven’t got over the Christmas period or are feeling blue, don’t worry everyone’s in the same boat. Here are a few tips I found on a website to get us all motivated:

Here are some more ways of being active:

  • Go for a walk at lunchtime
  • Take the stairs instead of the lift
  • Take your children to the park and play a few ballgames/have a kick about
  • Find a parking spot that is a brisk 10 minute walk away from the shops
  • Go for a bike ride and explore your local area
  • Do a good spring clean
  • Put on your favourite song and dance to it
  • Organise an informal sports session for work colleagues
  • Have a go at jogging on the spot when the kettle is boiling
  • Learn to do some stretches and practise for 10 minutes every day
  • Help a friend or neighbour with the gardening
  • Try an introductory session at a sports centre

Here are some more ways of taking notice:

  • Take a camera when you go out and take pictures as the seasons change
  • Practice slow breathing four times a day
  • Enjoy the small things
  • Take notice of your own thoughts and feelings
  • Take action to deal with negative thoughts before they have time to grow
  • Download free relaxation, stress management positive thinking podcasts
  • Savour the taste for my meals. (Eat sitting down)
  • Think about your day when you brush my teeth at night and recognise what you did well
  • Stop to appreciate something beautiful in your surroundings
  • Compliment a colleague or classmates new clothes or haircut
  • Asked yourself how I’m feeling at 3 points during the day
  • Notice 5 unusual things on a journey you make often/change the journey by walking on the other side of the road
  • Borrow a library book about mindfulness or meditation techniques
  • Spend 1 minute, every hour, focusing on your breathing
  • Take a 5 minute break at work/home and clear your head

Connect with people!

  • Sit with the family to eat a meal together
  • Send a card or letter to someone you haven’t seen for a while
  • Plan to go out the coffee/food/drink/with…
  • Ask a colleague how the week is going
  • Ring… who you haven’t spoken to in a while
  • Talk to someone at work instead of an email
  • Plan a fun activity to do with…
  • Pop into a community centre and sign up to get involved in a community activity
  • Sit and watch a film or something with the people you live with
  • Send an email to… who you haven’t heard from in ages
  • Call… for a chat
  • Say hello to a neighbour
  • Ask what is selling well when I buy something in the local shop

Here are some more ways you can keep learning:

  • Re-tune the radio and listen to something new
  • Browse in a charity shop and look at the sections you don’t usually look at – CDs, DVDs, books, shoes…
  • Read a book you have always wanted to read
  • Watch an interesting documentary on TV
  • Learn a new recipe and cook for…
  • Learn to play a simple tune on a musical instrument
  • Ask a friend to teach me a practical skill I’d like to learn – changing a plug, sewing on a button…
  • Learn and use a new word
  • Learn 5 phrases in a different language
  • Do some Internet research on a topic that intrigues you
  • Learn to identify a star constellation or type of tree
  • Borrow a teach yourself book from the library
  • Read a bit of a newspaper or magazine that you wouldn’t normally look at

taken from http://www.liveitwell.org.uk/ways-to-wellbeing/six-ways-to-wellbeing/take-notice/

I highly recommend the following websites for workbooks/help with Cognitive Behavioural Therapy.

http://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/

http://www.getselfhelp.co.uk/selfhelp.htm

http://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/help-information/mental-health-a-z/D/depression/

http://www.liveitwell.org.uk/

Thank you for reading

xxx

Leave a Reply

