I love Leeds!!!

After a long day at work I headed off to my old uni to see the latest degree show. I studied at Leeds Met between 2001-04 in the old ‘H’ block. I have got to say it was amazing, if a little bizarre to go back. It’s moved across the road to behind the old broadcasting place, and is an amazing building. It was strange because I recognised all the tutors but obviously everything had moved on, old presses were still there but it was in a modern building. I had a chat with a tutor called Clive who is also a photographer and then went to have a wander around, I feel inspired to get creative properly and not just at work. The unfortunate thing was it started getting really busy and I felt slightly out of my depth so made my excuses and left. I felt bad for this, as I wanted to see other tutors and say hi but part of me feels ashamed. I have nothing to be ashamed of. I have an amazing job, I have had so many opportunities given to me in the last few years I could never have dreamed of.

I have to give a big thanks to all the tutors who helped me, I felt I let myself down in the end but realised now I did actually learn a lot. I use it everyday at work!. I also want to say a massive thanks to Darren. I really don’t know what I would have done if he hadn’t offered me a job. I probably be stacking shelves (nothing with that). I have had the best five years even if the last three have been turbulent. I’m just sorry for letting you and your family down, time and time again. Thank you to Clive of Transform Images for having faith in me. 🙂 Love you guys. And Thank you to Rachel, James, Mum,Jane and whoever else have helped me in the past 18 months. I don’t know where I’d be without you.

As for tonight, I think I just need more practice in crowded spaces. I’ve always been worried about what people think of me, what I look like and I shouldn’t. So apologies for bailing so quick but I’m glad I went.

Thank you Rick for inviting me.

I’ve seen tonight the reason I have stayed so long and could probably never leave. The art and culture we produce. The people.The vews.  The music! omg the gigs I’ve seen. The comedy shows. Book club!!! The bustle of the city.  Being alone but being part of something.

This is home. This is me.

Thank you for reading

xxx

2 thoughts on “I love Leeds!!!

Leave a Reply

