Quirks

Quirk

1. A peculiarity of behavior; an idiosyncrasy: “Every man had his own quirks and twists” (Harriet Beecher Stowe).
2. An unpredictable or unaccountable act or event; a vagary: a quirk of fate.
3. A sudden sharp turn or twist.
4. An equivocation; a quibble.
5. Architecture A lengthwise groove on a molding between the convex upper part and the soffit.
Idiosyncrasy
1. A structural or behavioral characteristic peculiar to an individual or group.
2. A physiological or temperamental peculiarity.
3. An unusual individual reaction to food or a drug.
Reference: http://www.thefreedictionary.com/quirk
Quirky

1. an individual peculiarity of character; mannerism or foible
2. an unexpected twist or turn: a quirk of fate
3. a continuous groove in an architectural moulding
4. a flourish, as in handwriting

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/quirky

Image

I’ve been sat watching Holby City (Yes I know it’s a soap thingy and it’s not real) and was aware of the things that made the characters who they are. Like Chantelle’s smile,bounciness and chattiness and Serena’s dragon appearance but is really a lonely scared kitty.
It got me thinking. You see, I always thought quirky mean’t silly/mad but it’s what makes us unique individuals. try to get an image of quirkiness and you get cats??? I realise the little things I do. Like when I lock the front door, I go down the steps pen the gate and go back up to check the door.
I wear a hair-band or two around my left wrist, so that if I have my hair down at any point I can put it up, especially when I need to eat a meal, I only just noticed this, but even if I’ve styled it (very rare these days) and I sit down to eat I have to tie my hair back, and I have no idea why.
Take sleeping for instance, I apparently talk in my sleep, or chunter as my sister calls it. I’ve also been known to sleep like a starfish apparently, even though when I go to sleep I curl up on my right side, like a foetus (check this out The Telegraph – What does it say about your sleeping), while I get warm and then go flat on my front with my arms underneath in a hug sort of thing. I can’t lie on my left I just can’t get comfortable, but will always wake-up on my left. Bizarre! I’m not sure where I fit with all this. Perhaps I worry too much? Don’t relax enough? Got so much to say and not sure how to say it? or when to say it?
Can a quirk be when you can only eat a certain chocolate bar by eating the chocolate first then the biscuit? Only eating pizza with your fingers as it doesn’t taste right eating it with knife and fork? I only ask as I do this.
I do have a habit of getting my words mixed-up or putting two words in the wrong order and making a new one and not realising it. I can spontaneously choke on thin air. I think that one’s a gift. If I have a curry or chilli or stew I have to mix all my food together. Someone asked me the other day when we were discussing food as he thought he was odd for doing it.
Are there things that you do that make you, you? Are there things that annoy you, yet you don’t do them yourself? I hate getting untidy but once a week it seems I just empty everything on the floor and leave it. I hate it when others a re messy. I realise sometimes I can work in chaos, I have books everywhere and the area around the sofa can look like a bomb site  but wouldn’t like others doing it.
I only ask this because I have lived on my own for over two years and thinking of going into a house-share and realised I would have to change so much. Like not leaving the washing up in the sink for days on end. Tidying up more frequent.
In the end the quirky things, rituals etc that we do are unique to us. We shouldn’t try to change people, although if it is ridiculous we should try help them learn a new way of doing things perhaps. Let me know what yours are and what you think.
Thanks for reading.
xxx
Leave a Reply

