Moulin Rouge (The Film)

Image
I had a copy of this poster in my room when I was a student.

 

The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love

and be loved in return.

Moulin Rouge-A poet falls for a beautiful courtesan whom a jealous duke covets in this stylish musical, with music drawn from familiar 20th century sources.

“The year is 1899, and Christian, a young English writer, has come to Paris to follow the Bohemian revolution taking hold of the city’s drug and prostitute infested underworld. And nowhere is the thrill of the underworld more alive than at the Moulin Rouge, a night club where the rich and poor men alike come to be entertained by the dancers, but things take a wicked turn for Christian as he starts a deadly love affair with the star courtesan of the club, Satine. But her affections are also coveted by the club’s patron: the Duke. A dangerous love triangle ensues as Satine and Christian attempt to fight all odds to stay together but a force that not even love can conquer is taking its toll on Satine…”

*SPOILERS*

This is one of my all time favourite films. It’s my ‘feel good’ film, the one that once you watch everything in life doesn’t seem to bad, even for a short while.

I first saw it, I think possibly 3 or 4 times at the cinema. I practically know it word for word. I first saw it by accident with a male friend from college. We went to see a comedy film and go for drinks and it finished early. This was on within the next 20 mins and for some daft reason decided we should go. The second time I saw it with my brother. He was a bit annoyed I’d already seen it, but I had loved it so much I wanted to see it again. A few months later I got taken on Valentine’s Day to see it, again a male friend, but apparently his intentions were to ask me out, but didn’t. And me being slow on the uptake didn’t catch on, it wasn’t until five months later a female friend pointed out how much he fancied me that we got together. I’m not with him any more but that doesn’t effect my love of Moulin Rouge. It’s my feel good movie and at least I can have a good cry when Satine dances her last. I am that mad about it I have the soundtrack to.

Image

Image
Look at that dress!

I think my favourite bit is when they do Your Song video clip here –http://youtu.be/LaT3uiNhj1g. I love this it’s so lively and entertaining. Oh and the scene where Satine has to go for dinner with the duke and she falls ill Zidler and the duke perform like a virgin, unfortunately I can’t find a video for this.

The whole film is just amazing. The costumes, the sets, the actors. Jim Broadbent as Harold Zidler and Richard Roxburgh as the creepy duke.

Image

I know this film has so much going on and it has fond memories for me. I remember sitting with my friend Rachel, watching it and singing to it. Well me screeching and Rachel singing beautifully. I just can’t sing. Someone told me to stop once because it hurts their ears. Charming. The Carr singing voice can be passed on. Damn!

My gift is my song. And this one’s for you. And You Can Tell Everybody That this is your song. It may be quite simple but now that it’s done. I hope u don’t mind I hope You don’t mind That I put down in words… How Wonderful Life is Now you’re in the world

Image
Time to reach for the tissues

If you hadn’t guessed by now I do like some romantic soppy films like Bridget Jones Diary, Moulin Rouge, anything with Colin Firth (I mean anything), obviously I was obsessed with Ewan Mcgregor when this came out. I love films where there’s a love story, obviously in Titanic and this film someone unfortunately dies and love is thwarted and no one lives happily ever after. Just for future refence I do watch other stuff, just sometimes you have to go back to what really makes you feel good.

But I love the genius behind Moulin Rouge, the music, the storyline, How it is drama wise from light to dark, to light again, the use of songs, mixed, whole in whatever form. The costumes! OMG, the costumes. Just amazing. Just magical. If only they would show it in the cinema again. *sighs*

Thank you for reading

xxx

Thanks to IMDb and Yahoo for the information

Leave a Reply

