‘When you wish upon a star’

Lessons learned today; Be thankful for what you have even if it’s not what you want or expected from life. Take each day as it comes, let people know how much they mean to you, by text, phone call, hug, small gift. anything really and most of all when things get to much take a breather count to 10 and start again. Oh and don’t dunk a pain au chocolat in your coffee……it squirts out the other end. 🙂 x

Image
supper

Times can be tough when there’s no one there to catch your fall. –Walter (The Muppets)

I don’t know why I decided to write tonight, when I should be finishing reading my book, but with the news of Jessops going bust and the come down from Christmas and it being quiet at work I felt I needed to say Thank you for what I have and what I’ve achieved so far. Thank you to all my friends and family who have supported me. I’m lucky to have what I do.

I don’t know why I’ve put this next piece in but I kind of feel like I’m possibly turning into this character and one day I will what my heart desires, I’ve just got to be careful what I wish for and be grateful for what I have.

Pinnochio (the film)

Image
Disney’s Pinochio. Famous song ‘When you wish upon a star’

The plot of the film involves an old wood-carver named Geppetto who carves a wooden puppet named Pinocchio who is brought to life by a blue fairy, who tells him he can become a real boy if he proves himself “brave, truthful, and unselfish”. Thus begin the puppet’s adventures to become a real boy, which involve many encounters with a host of unsavory characters.

I searched on the internet to find what lessons we learn from Pinochio and found this;

‘That good intentions lead to nowhere or worse, to trouble if you don’t work hard to achieve your goals and just want to receive everything from others, that you must be careful what friends you choose along the way, that to love someone means doing your duty as best you can, and that lying is never the way.’

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_lessons_did_you_learn_from_Pinocchio

‘We must learn to strike a balance between work and play, between the need to get what we want and the need to be concerned about others.’

Also on this site probing themes:

1. The search for identity

2. The need for security and love

3. Giving in to peer pressure:

4. Learning from our mistakes:

5. Conscience:

6. The need for balance:

All of which I am questioning at the moment.

http://www.globalstage.net/goback/pin_discuss.html

All above apply to everyone but especially to me at the moment. So many times in the last 6 months have I wondered who the hell I am and who I want to be and I just can’t answer either. Right from an early age I’ve been surrounded by people. I shared a bedroom with my Sister for at least years, always screaming out for the need of my own space.Then I left home, and granted I had my own room, a place to escape but I was living in a house 5 other people. Then followed by the move to Leeds and met some brilliant people moved twice at uni and ended up being the only female in a house of 4. I moved three times again before coming to live on my own, and to be honest I don’t know if it is a good or a bad thing.

Image
My ‘office’

Sometimes on an evening if it’s been mental at work I just want to crash and enjoy the peace and then other times I feel lost and try to fill my time either on Facebook to feel the sense of being with people. I think that’s why I’ve gone to as many bookclubs as possible and started this radio project, just so I’m not on my own. I’ve noticed recently in the last few months I’ve gone to work earlier and earlier just so I’m not in the house. I’d rather be there than here, but then I forget I need to take a break, calling it a ‘cake break’ as I don’t smoke and take 5 minutes out otherwise I burn myself out and can’t think straight.

So the moral of the story, I think, is you never know what’s going on inside a person’s head. You can’t say you’re know what they’re going through, even if you have been through something similar  or the same thing because everyone is different and we all cope/react in different ways, simply because we’re selfish,stubborn human creatures who think they’re own plight is way worse than anyone else’s. We may lose our way once in a while, whether growing-up, change of jobs, environment  Things can effect the paths we choose to walk along, it could be the loss of someone close or something. The breakdown of a relationship. Added pressure from work. The need for the support of friends and family is crucial at this time, but what we also have to remember is that we have to let that person heal and ‘guide’ them in the best way possible back onto the right path, whatever that might be.

‘Don’t wait for the perfect moment, take the moment and make it perfect.’

I love what we humans say to each other to make us feel better. ‘You’ll find it when you least expect it’, they are referring to love but can also happen if you’re looking for something and can’t then find it ten minutes later when you put your hand straight on it. ‘The right one is out there somewhere’ All I can say is he’s either hiding somewhere or still running. They all mean well, but when you’re feeling down about the situation you’re in it just feels like it’s easy for the other person to say that because they have what you want. Believe me I’ve said it myself recently. Oh and I have started believing in positive thinking, doesn’t always work, but that along with trying not to worry or stress out about things that haven’t happened yet is a bit pointless and whether I’ll learn to deal with this better I’m not so sure, I’ve been trying for the last 15 or so years. (shudders at the thought of so many years gone by)

So to to tomorrow, A new day a new start. Lots to do tomorrow and finishing with the first Leeds Book club of the year. Huzzah! as we say. 🙂

So when ever things get tough, and I’ll cringe saying this, always remember that ‘someone is always worse off than you’ and ‘Be thankful for what you have’ because one day it could be taken away in a spilt second ‘puff’ and it’s gone. I’ve been in that situation a few times and believe me it’s not pleasant.

One last thought at this point in my life I wanted to be married have two kids a house with a garden, a dog, a car and a good job. Out of this I can drive, I have a good job, fantastic support network in family and friends and lots of cushions and candles and a comfy sofa. What more could a girl ask for? I just lost my way and forgot what life was about. It’s about living, enjoying every moment, taking on new challenges however scary they maybe and sounds corny, but embracing life (muffles a laugh)

So raise a glass to 2013. I hope it’s brilliant for everyone after this bumpy start.

Thank you for reading

xxx

Listened to the soundtrack to Disney’s Pinocchio

‘When you wish upon a star
Makes no difference who you are
Anything your heart desires
Will come to you

If your heart is in your dream
No request is too extreme
When you wish upon a star
As dreamers do

Fate is kind
She brings to those who love
The sweet fulfillment of
Their secret longing

Like a bolt out of the blue
Fate steps in and sees you through
When you wish upon a star
Your dreams come true’

Leave a Reply

