12/12/12

So today is a special day. It’s 12/12/12

‘There will never be another date like 12-12-12, after all … the world is ending only nine days later, according to the Mayans’ famous apocalyptic prediction.’

‘According to numerology, 12 is considered a “three” number because the digits add up to three.’

Image

So it’s midweek it’s supposed to be a ‘lucky day’. Actually it was an easier day. Everything that could be done was unless I forgot it. Which unless I don’t make a list on paper or for personal things input it into my phone then it’s lost until my brain catches up hours later. Yes I get stressed easily, but I’m learning the signs to when to take a step back and have a breather.

I’ve never hated this time of year like I do at the moment. For some reason it’s just really getting me down. It’s been a while since I’ve felt like this. The added pressure of getting things not just right but more perfect than normal and that means sometimes taking longer to get things done is just brining the ‘scrooge’ or ‘grouch’ out in people. It just sends people crazy. Queues everywhere, people not watching where they are walking or just dawdling! And what is it for exactly? One day! One day out of the whole year where some not all people get a day off. We spend a couple of months stressing about this ‘Big Day’ where it takes 20-30 minutes to open presents to find we didn’t get what we wanted or so-in-so got more than you or better and the elation of opening lasts seconds and then the whole weeks of stress for buying  that one thing is wasted.

Christmas should be about spending time with family and treasure who they are and eat lots of food. That’s another thing, why do we get so much food for one day?? Mental!

One last thing about Christmas. This is the time of year when things start breaking down because it’s overworked. Heating at work has gone. Other things have happened and then trying to arrange things like my course! it’s been shifted about because it’s bad timing for everyone. AAAARGGGHHHH!

Image
Me trying to get into the Christmas Spirit!

One day to cause all this choas! The law should be changed! allow people two days off and have two boxing days! it’s simply not fair to have people exhausted for this one day.

Image
An early Christmas present!

Sorry for the grouchiness. It’s silly reasons really, This cold weather is just so draining and my silly accident last week has left me in pain and I’m just sick of it. hopefully the physio can help tomorrow. Actually I’m praying they can help. I know I’m not alone at living on my own but quite frankly I’m fed up with it. I think I need looking after, for a bit anyway. Perhaps I should seek a cleaner/chef/shopper. Oh well I can dream.

So as 2012 draws to a close. another year gone! I’m wondering what’s next. I would love to go back and talk to my younger self and say ‘hey it might not work out the way you planned, keep up the hardwork and don’t give up on yourself when others do. And grab new opportunities with both hands and enjoy every minute’.  Because I am amazed at what I’ve achieved and how people keep recognising me in Leeds and are thrilled to see me at bookclub or work and say hi as they walk past. So next year, 2013 another year older. Apart from the radio production course, book club, possible poetry class and getting back into running all I want for 2013 is to be a bit richer both in wealth and health. so fingers crossed I can make it happen.

Thank you for reading

and if I don’t blog again, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year

xxx

Leave a Reply

