Oliver at The Grand in Leeds!!!!

I wanted to start this with OMG! but thought that might annoy people but OMG! was I blown away. What a show! My Mum was visiting and it’s nearly Christmas (or so we’ve been told) and I thought we should do something different and I’m so glad we did. It’s the first time I’ve been in The Grand in the whole 11 or more years of living here. What a little gem! It’s so big! It has beautiful interior and no wonder it’s called the Grand! I wish I had the money to go to a show every week!

‘Food, glorious food!
Hot sausage and mustard!
While we’re in the mood —
Cold jelly and custard!
Pease pudding and saveloys!
What next is the question?
Rich gentlemen have it, boys —
In-di-gestion!’

I recommend this to everyone. Seriously any age can go see this and if you’re like me you’ll leave with a lump in your throat & a tear in your eye. The show opened with the kids sitting at tables eating gruel and from the off the singing the dancing the atmosphere was just jaw dropping. The scenery was just outstanding. So many layers!  The amount of movement, Things dropped in from above pulled in from the sides,  so much thought that and imagination that went in to it The lighting used and the sense of perspective. The amount of detail in it. Same must be said for the costumes.   And then there was the music. Did you know the orchestra is under the stage?!?! What a sensation that must be! The amount of talent in this show, I was eager to see what Neil Morrissey was going to be like and his performance just made you forget who was under the costume. you rooted for Nancy who stood up for Oliver and the gasp when (spoiler) Bill Sykes kills her was just silence. The young boy playing Oliver had an amazing voice!

‘Where is love?
Does it fall from skies above?
Is it underneat the willow tree
That I’ve been dream of?
Where is she?
Who I close my eyes to see?
Will I ever know the sweet “hello”
That’s only meant for me?
Who can say where she may hide?
Must I travel far and wide?
‘Til I am bedside the someone who
I can mean somethin to …
Where…?
Where is love?’

The thing I was most worried about was that My Mum having a good time and being able to see and hear properly. I hadn’t booked at The Grand before  and I was doing it online and wasn’t sure what I was going to get. It said restricted view and I think there was a pillar in front of us. However it wasn’t as bad as expected and Mum’s seat did see direct onto the stage. We bought a programme for £3 and when we sat down I found some mini binoculars you could ‘borrow’ for a pound. so I did and had a look at the stage. I think I held them to close as they appeared blurred. Once everything got started I got completely absorbed and kept checking on Mum and She had a smile on her face enjoying it. I kept singing along to the songs. I couldn’t help it! One of them I think would  make a good wedding song is ‘Consider yourself’. Simply because these days people make an effort to say thank you to their guests by putting on a performance. But if you read the lyrics it’s like saying ‘let’s bring everyone together and have a good dance and sing song’

‘Consider yourself at home.
Consider yourlef one of the familhy.
We’ve taken to you so strong.
It’s clear we’re going to get along.
Consider yourself well in
Consider yourslef par to the furniture.
There isn’t a lot to spare.
Who cares?..What ever we’ve goin we share!’

The talent of the little kids was just amazing the amount of energy and the confidence to do sing a solo! I think Mum & me both liked the little boy who kept wiggling his bottom to the crowd and doing a cheeky dance until an adult carted him off stage. I wish I had that talent and energy to do what they did. The drama and suspense put into this show was made by the acting and the music. so much has gone into this that I felt I got my money’s worth and much more. We even had icecream in the interval to join in being at the Theatre. Theatre is an amazing place to be and I don’t think it’s advertised enough. We have all these films bombarding us and yet there’s raw talent in a theatre with live music and yes you’re sat in the dark but you still feel part of something and there’s a warm feeling about watching a show. People gasping, sniffing clapping to soon and then whistling (For the kids, Fagin and Nancy)  and booing (for Bill Sykes) at the end to say thank you for such a good show.

I don’t think I’ve said enough about this but this is my small review and I highly recommend everyone go and see it before it leaves Leeds.

Thank you for reading

xxx

Leave a Reply

