Crazy, Crazy Days!

“Only one thing has to change for us to know happiness in our lives: where we focus our attention.” ~ Greg Anderson

Laugh at yourself

“Sometimes you just have to laugh at yourself.” The Muppets

(Above found on JUMP FOR JOY! Photo Project)

Song of the day Crazy, Crazy nights -Kiss

This morning

People/life it’s just crazy! Really it is. We all do our bit to get on in the world. We all have problems they maybe different but yet their the same. We’re always thinking life is crap! but it’s probably more to do with the fact it might not be what we want at the moment and the fact we’re bombarded 24/7 with adverts on TV or in newspapers or on the radio of the latest gadget or must have fashion and we must have them because ‘it will make our life better’. Well no not really. It’s like eating that piece of chocolate or piece of cake we crave for a pick-me up because we feel down. We eat it, we enjoy it, and then the feeling where’s off and we’re left with nothing. With technology it’s the same except we clutter our lives up and our houses so that at one point in our lives we realise we can’t move any more and then we start de cluttering and wonder why on earth we bought the damn thing in the first place.

We all want what we can’t have. It’s the way our society has been built. Christmas is not far off and already there’s adverts telling us what we should buy and this year because someone has obviously ran out of ideas they’ve decided to bring back toys of the 80’s. granted LEGO will never fail! I love it. So did everyone yesterday. I’ve never seen a stampede like that in my life! People in WHSmiths must have wondered what the fuss was about. (see previous post).

A stampede for some small pieces of plastic but its’a amazing!

Anyway, I had an amazing day yesterday and sitting in the Cathedral gave me a sense of peace. This morning I woke up after 6 hours of sleep, not my usual & thought it was Thursday. Not sure why but thought I had another day off. I went into work forgetting the Christmas decorations had gone up (Christmas will be all year round soon. Sigh). I don’t know quite what’s happened with me & Christmas in the last few years but it’s lost it’s sparkle. I have a hat from the pound shop that says Bah Humbug! I think not having kids & being single *& working in retail for 12 years has sort of ruined it for me. It’s one day of the year, we know it’s coming but yet lots of people leave it to the last minute and get completely stressed out when things have run out or they’ve simply run out of time. I’ve yet to hear any Christmas tunes. Thank goodness.

Anyway I can’t quite remember the reason I wanted to write this piece apart from the fact that in the last two days I feel I belong somewhere. Whether it’s people winding me up and having a good laugh or the fact I feel apart of something that is growing and could become bigger if we all keep communicating. We rely to much on text messages and emails these days that we don’t actually talk face to face or on the phone. It’s a form of communication that’s getting lost and I’m one of the worst for doing it.

Next year is 2013. I’m 33. I’m hoping my knee fixes soon and after talking to Marc today realised it might have been my shoes that caused my knee problem so when I get some new shoes I’ll take longer to get it right as I want to be able to run the York 10k  for the third time(if someone wants to buy me a ticket please do). I also want to enter the Great North Run next year because it’s 13 miles in 2013. I would like to say I want to read 52 books (thats’ 13 x4 and my Mum’s house number!) I think I have become obsessed with the number 13 lately that next year I really do want to make it my year. So onwards and upwards for this little old lady!

Thank you for reading

xxx

Leave a Reply

