We all should read kids books once in a while

Recently I’ve lost my reading moo again. I don’t know if it’s because work has been to busy or the distraction of Facebook or Twitter or feeling the pressure of having to read so many books at the moment that I’m just avoiding reading them. I recently finished Lighthouse keeping by Jeannette Winters for bookclub and I really enjoyed. I did find it jumped about a bit and didn’t seem to have much plot but I really enjoyed the bits about the old lighthouse keeper and his dark stories.

I then tried reading another book for a different bookclub and because it had no speech marks in it and had larger print than normal and spaced out more on the page, and I found it really difficult to get into so I’ve abandoned it.

I decided to do what I did a few years back and read a kids book. This is how I found the books Warhorse and The boy in the stripe pyjamas. They are two of my favourite books. The reason I did this was because I think adult fiction can get to heavy sometimes and I needed a lighter book to read. If you have read these two books you would know they are brilliantly written and very poignant.

I’m not ashamed to admit I am a massive Harry Potter Fan. I fell into it by accident. I was staying at my Aunt’s about 10-12 years ago and one night I got the chance to read a bedtime story to my young cousins. It was the Philosopher’s stone. I think I started reading partly because I did actually like it and because it was a fond memory of spending time with my family. I absolutely love these books. I got so excited about one I went down to Morrisons petrol station on the day of release for one of them and got it for £5. I even love the films!

There’s quite a few books that I am fond of from my childhood. the two that really stick out are ‘Mrs Frisby and the Rats of Nimh’ & ‘The Silver Sword’. I’m currently rereading the first one but I’m in search of the second with the cover that has the guy sitting on a box. I recently wrote a blog about all this. It’s funny what we forget and what we remember.

The other books that popped into my head were ‘choose an adventure’ where you read a chapter and you had to go to a certain page and you either carried on with your journey or met an untimely death! There were the books with the tapes. I think we had a lot of Disney ones. Then there was a magazine that came out fortnightly. I remember one had the story about the Labyrinth and the Minotaur and the story scared the hell out of me.

I’ve been searching on the internet to try remember what we used to read and there’s a selection below that are a blast from the past and I remember loving reading them. Especially puddle lane and ‘Mr Gotobed’!

So if anyone remembers any books from the 80s or 90s that they read please let me know as I would like to have a nostalgia trip and go back and read them! I don;t think there’s anything wrong with reading kids books once in a while. Our brains get so overloaded with stuff that we need something to give it a break. Try and see!

Image
My favourite book as a kid given to me by my Grandma

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

4 thoughts on “We all should read kids books once in a while

Leave a Reply

