Mrs Frisby and the Rats of Nimh

I gave this five stars on Goodreads.

This is one of the books I read at school and has always stayed with me.  I think we did projects on it I in English class but I can’t remember what. When I last visited my Mum’s I picked this up and it still didn’t disappoint. A lot of it I had forgotten. I remember it was a fight for survival and that was it. The story is about a field mouse who has to overcome all sorts of obstacles to protect her family when it comes to ploughing day because her youngest son is ill and cannot move. I had forgotten about the rats and how they had become so intelligent and the the the conflict with the cat. Part of me thinks it’s about self discovery and what we do to protect ourselves and others in what we tell them and do. At one point I did feel myself going ‘No Mrs Frisby don’t do that!’ and because I couldn’t remember the ending. I was hoping the ending was not going to be sad. I think as a child you miss quite a lot of what is written in there, you’re just reading a story and not looking for things  and to reread it as an adult gives it a new perspective and also brings back fond memories. I would recommend this to anyone who just wants a light read.

Oh and if anyone is wondering about the state of the book I think my dog ate it. 🙂

read for LBCPuffins on Tuesday. good discussion :D
read for LBCPuffins on Tuesday. good discussion 😀
Leave a Reply

