alone time

One of my favorite songs since I can remember. Just had to turn off the tv and go sort the house just to have some me time and try stop all the overthinking. I know, I hear you, you live alone what do you need me time for. Well, there’s the fact that I’m a trainee at work, and back full time after a month jobhunting. I have homework. I’m doing my hardest to fit in hobbies inbetween, sorting bills, the house, food shopping (which I hate) and  eating, sleeping, washing uniform for next day blah blah blah.

I was asked the other day if I was happy and again today I replied yes but then wondered if it was the coffee talking as I darn’t really admit I’m happy even though things aren’t exactly how I want them and not sure if I’m going to cope if things go to pot again, but I’m trying to enjoy the moment because as proved this year you don’t know what’s round the corner.

So my default to clear my head is get fresh air, hum or sing or best yet clean the house then go have a large bubbly bath with loads of candles.

Thank you for reading

xxx

All good things…

Originally posted on LeedsBookClub:

thank you

It’s hard to believe that Leeds Book Club has been going for over 4 years now.

We started off small, earnest and enthused and it was in Arcadia Bar in Headingley that we found our Mothership.

This month will be our last meeting at Arcadia for the time being. As time moves on, people have left the area, the book club focus has shifted more towards the city centre and north west and…well…it’s been 4 years.

Time to let a new lot take over our spot upstairs.

For the moment anyway.

Our book choice is The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.

We will meet on Sunday the 21st of September at 5:30pm as usual, have our normal book conversation and then, from about 6:30pm

PAAAARRTTTY!

Everyone who has even the most obscure link to LBC is invited. Ideally, we’ll have a massive, messy and amazing send off!!

I can’t…

View original 56 more words

Colin Firth’s ‘Kingsman’ to Battle ‘Fifty Shades’ on Valentine’s Day

Featured Image -- 15225

Originally posted on Variety:

Colin Firth at his most buttoned up will jockey with a whip-wielding Christian Grey for moviegoers’ hearts on Valentine’s Day.

“Kingsman: The Secret Service” will shift from Oct. 24, 2014 to Feb. 13, 2015, 20th Century Fox said Wednesday. In its new spot, the spy film will go head-to-head with “Fifty Shades of Grey.”

The film, which allows Firth to pack heat along with his stiff upper lip, will theoretically appeal to men, whereas “Grey” and its storyline involving a member of the 1% getting his kink on, is targeting women.

An extended look at “Kingsman” earned a rapturous response from theater owners at CinemaCon. Samuel L. Jackson, Michael Caine and newcomer Taron Egerton co-star alongside Firth, who, in the footage screened at the annual exhibition trade show, turns an umbrella into a lethal weapon and generally comes across as a bad-ass George Smiley.

In its old release slot, “Kingsman’s”…

View original 78 more words

Listener reviewers wanted for Radio 2 Book Club

Originally posted on Leeds Reads:

Radio 2 Book Club ChoicesDo you love reading? If so, the Radio 2 Book Club is just the thing for you. From October, Simon Mayo is taking an in-depth look at a whole range of fiction and non-fiction titles – with author interviews, incisive analysis and online interaction, but he needs your help as a reviewer!

The BBC are looking for people who are interested in casting their eyes over the literary selections. If chosen, your comments will be put to some of the world’s most pre-eminent authors.

Sign up

View original

September book clubs!!!! 14th September 2014 -Augustus by John Williams at the White Swan

14th September 2014 -Augustus by John Williams from 6pm at the White Swan Leeds

n236695

A brilliant and beautifully written novel in the tradition of Robert Graves’I, Claudius, Augustus is a sweeping narrative that brings vividly to life a compelling cast of historical figures through their letters, dispatches, and memoirs. -Goodreads